Meet Our Affiliates

The Maine Space Grant Consortium is made up of Affiliates that are actively involved in aerospace-related research and education. Affiliates are institutions of higher education or non-profit research organizations. Each Affiliate has the capacity to take a leading role in strengthening and expanding the state’s aerospace research and education capabilities by improving its own capability or in collaboration with other Affiliates. On a case-by-case basis, the Board of Directors may recognize an institution as an Affiliate even though it is not a higher education or not-for-profit research institution.

Our affiliate members and representatives are:

 

Screen Shot 2013-05-13 at 10.03.56 AM Bates College
Nathan Lundblad, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Dept. of Physics and Astronomy
207-786-6321
nlundbla@bates.edu
Lewiston

 

9281e124991fcdcffd74aa6a1c10a6b4 Bigelow Laboratory for Ocean Sciences
Graham Shimmield, Ph.D.
Executive Director
207-633-9600
gshimmield@bigelow.org
West Boothbay Harbor

 

 

bowdoin Bowdoin College
Ms. Cindy Stocks
Director, Student Fellowships and Research
207-725-36057
cstocks@bowdoin.edu
Brunswick

 

clc.maine Challenger Learning Center of Maine
Mr. William Buckley, President
207-989-9404
bill@coffeenewsusa.com
Bangor

 

Screen Shot 2013-05-13 at 10.25.16 AM Colby College
Dr. Elizabeth McGrath, Assistant Professor of Physics
207-859-5868
elizabeth.mcgrath@colby.edu
Waterville

 

Screen Shot 2013-05-13 at 10.28.47 AM College of the Atlantic
Dave Feldman, Ph.D.
Assoc. Dean for Academic Affairs, Prof. of mathematics and Physics
207-288-5015 x249
dave@hornacek.coa.edu
Bar Harbor

 

Screen Shot 2013-05-13 at 10.30.18 AM Gulf of Maine Research Institute
Leigh Peake
Chief Education Officer
207-228-1632
lpeake@gmri.org
Portland

 

 

Screen Shot 2013-05-13 at 10.40.34 AM Lockheed Martin
Timothy Kienstra
207-442-4177
timothy.kienstra.ctr@bathatt.navy.mil
Bath

 

mainemep_logo Maine Manufacturing Extension Partnership
Ms. Muriel Mosher
V.P. for Government & Public Relations
207-780-9700
murielm@mepmsi.org
Augusta

 

images Maine Maritime Academy
Jill Schoof, Assistant Professor of Engineering
207-326-2173
jill.schoof@mma.edu
Castine

 

Screen Shot 2013-05-13 at 10.45.22 AM Maine Mathematics and Science Alliance
Jan Mokros, Ph.D., Executive Director
207-287-5881
jmokros@mmsa.org
Augusta

 

  Maine School of Science and Mathematics
Luke Shorty, Executive Director
207-325-3303
shortyl@mssm.org
Limestone

 

Screen Shot 2013-05-13 at 10.56.21 AM Saint Joseph’s College
Nicholas Benfaremo
Assistant Professor of Chemistry
207-893-7958
nbenfaremo@sjcme.edu
Standish

 

Southern Maine Community College Southern Maine Community College
Crystal Pietrowicz
Chair, Biological Sciences
(207) 741-5652
cpietrowicz@smccme.edu
South Portland

 

Screen Shot 2013-05-13 at 10.48.52 AM University of Maine,
Ali Abedi, Ph.D.
Electrical and Computer Engineering
207-581-2231
ali.abedi@maine.edu
Orono

 

Screen Shot 2013-05-13 at 10.50.09 AM University of New England
Jerome Mullin, Ph.D.
Professor of Chemistry and Department Chair
207-283-0170 ext. 2538
jmullin@une.edu
Biddeford

 

Screen Shot 2013-05-13 at 10.51.29 AM University of Southern Maine
Bruce Thompson, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Psychology-Human Development
(207) 780-4739
rbthompson@maine.edu
Portland

 

VALT Enterprises, LLC
Mr. Karl Hoose, CEO/CTO
207-651-8830
karl.hoose@valt-ent.com
Sanford

 

 York Community College Logo York County Community Community College
Dr. Maria Niswonger
Department Chair, Science
(207) 216-4363
mniswonger@yccc.edu
Wells

 

General Members

The Consortium is also comprised of General Member organizations. A General member is classified as an institution that does not fall under the definition of an Affiliate (above). General Membership is subject to the submission of a letter committing the institution to supporting the mission of the Consortium including active involvement in Consortium activities, and the approval of the Executive Director. General Members include: